Reviews

 jpalmer8 wrote a review Jun 2022

Newtownards, United Kingdom9 contributions9 helpful votes
We had a great day with Jon, met some lovely people, thoroughly enjoyed the walk and had a very tasty lunch. Jon is an excellent guide and he is really well informed about the local area. Super way to spend the day and see some of the more out of the way places.
Date of experience: June 2022

shell561 wrote a review Dec 2019
Edale, United Kingdom22 contributions9 helpful votes
This is the 2nd walk I have done with John Keo walking tour although this time his brother Graham led the walk.

There were 4 of us in our group and we were transported by Graham’s car from the meeting place in Nerja to the start of the walk which was high above Acebuchal. The walk took us in a circular direction on mostly flat gravel path/road. I wore cross trainers which was perfect for the terrain and a rucksack with a drink and light snack.
We took frequent stops and arrived at the village for lunch which was very good value for €10 (plus drinks and dessert extra). We met people at the restaurant who were responsible for rebuilding the village from it’s former ruins.

We walked back to the car after lunch (about 2k in distance). There is a slight incline at the end but not challenging.

Thank you Graham and your lovely dog Luna for another great walk.
Read less
Date of experience: December 2019

We did a splendid walk with John Keogh our guide.Commencing in the beautiful mountain village of Frigiliana we eventually climbed to the summit of Captain Pintos hill where we were afforded far reaching views of the surrounding hills and coastline beyond.
Read less
Date of experience: October 2019

I just spent the weekend near Frigilliana and did several walks with John. It was a true pleasure! The hikes were brilliant, I especiallay loved the hike around the mountains near the beach. We took a break on the beach, had lunch and a swim, before continuing. Beautiful hike, the views were spectacular. John is a generally wonderful human being, with a great sense of humour making everyone feeling welcomed. He is full of knowledge about the local history and a great storyteller. Just loved it!


2 weeks ago
NEW
Excellent walk with Jon. Around 10k ending in a fantastic lunch at El Achubal.

2 months ago
Very good!

2 months ago
We really enjoyed our walk with John. He is a very knowledgeable guide with a great insight into the history of the area. The lunch that was provided was fantastic! I would highly recommend!

2 months ago
Had the most wonderful day with Jon Keo Walking Tours last month, to the lost village of El Acebuchal. Jon really informative and shared all the history of the area, really interesting. Walk ended in the village’s only restaurant, as recommended in Repsol guide, food was excellent. I would highly recommend a walk with this group and I look forward to to doing a couple of his walks when I return to Nerja in June.

3 months ago
Walking with John for years, great walks, well organised, great way to see the countryside.


8 months ago
John does a fantastic job bringing groups through the hills behind Nerja and Frigiliana. The booking is easy and response times very quick. The vatiety of walks cater for everyone. John and his crew are very informative. We really enjoyed our day out. El Acebuchal is not to be missed!!

11 months ago
I have walked with guides in many countries and must say that John is the most professional guide I have ever walked with. His knowledge of the areas where he guides is second to none and he really takes the time to get to know all members of the group he is guiding.

a year ago
My Wife and I have hiked with John many times and have always thoroughly enjoyed our experience he is punctual and knows his routes and their flora and fauna and has a relaxed and fun attitude and these hikes are great value for money five stars from us.


I booked on a 3hr coastal walk with Jon as I was travelling alone and wanted to see some ‘off the beaten track’ parts of Nerja. The walk was beautiful, Jon was a great guide, funny, entertaining and very knowledgable about the local area. I will be back! Highly recommend!


I highly recommend Jon's walks, you get right up into the hills and mountains around Nerja, and learn so much about the history, flora and fauna of the area in such a relaxed and friendly way. when I'm back in Nerja, I will definitely book another walk with Jon.


We were a group of ten people from Ireland and we had a guided walk to the hidden village of El Acebuchal with John, we had a wonderful day and John was an excellent guide with great local knowledge. He was able to tell us all about the history of the village and the surrounding area. His helpfulness and knowledge really made the day for us,
We had a wonderful lunch in the village restaurant ( organised by John) and an interesting tour of the village. Highly recommend this guided walk with John.

Having done 4 different ones, I will say that I always enjoy going on John's hikes. He is always well prepared and ensures that the whole party feels included.

Our first experience of a walking holiday last week in Spain was greatly enhanced by the walks organised by Jon Keo Walking Tours. Both our guides Linda and Graham made the whole experience a delight. They were attentive at all times to the needs and abilities of everyone in the group. Their local knowledge and good humour throughout made each walk a pleasure. The variety of walks allowed us to enjoy different aspects of the area. Highly recommended